The camp enrollment grew with each passing summer. Pioneer camping became
so popular there was a need for a second unit. "Grizzly" was opened in 1929 and located beyond Hultz. The unit was named for
Gertrude Gold whose nickname was Grizzly.
In 1933, the first ever covered wagon gypsy trip planned by Girl Scouts
was taken by the girls of grizzly. The trip was so successful it continued as one of the regular features of pioneer camp
life until 1970. 1956 featured the building of a combination troop house and kitchen to replace the old primitive kitchen.
This facility has since been moved to Hultz. In 1960, Grizzly was used by the counselors-in-training. At present, though,
Grizzly is not being utilized.
Four cabins were erected in an open field in 1932 to house eight girls
each. The area was called Nissaki. The Reciprocity Club of Scranton donated a troop house. The name Nissaki changed to The
Ship in 1935 and then back to Nissaki from 1936-1939. In 1940, the name Green Meadows was adopted. This name was shortened
to Meadows over the years. A shower house was added in 1947 and renovation to the cabins and troop house were made in 1968.
Another first! The very first Mariner unit to be opened in any Girl Scout
Camp was started at Camp Archbald in 1938. One houseboat, which floated on drums on Lake Ely, was christened the "Hey You."
A second boat, the "Challenge" was added in 1939. The two houseboats have been rebuilt twice: once when the wooden roof was
added in place of a leaky canvas, again, when the boats were taken off the lake and situated on the shoreline.
In 1982, the two boats were officially retired, but on August 12, 1984,
a new house boat, the "Hey You II" was christened with due ceremony. The following year, its sister ship, the "Challenge"
was put afloat; both built by Senior Girl Scouts of the Johnson technical Institute, Scranton. An additional boat was recently
added called the "Scout" which is utilized by counselors. Cadette and Senior Girl Scouts living on the boat participate in
canoe and basic rescue certification courses and qualify for the canoe trips on the Susquehanna and Delaware rivers.
In 1941 a special Brownie unit, Sunnyside, was added. Three cabins were
built on the hillside in view of main camp. This unit, housing 24 brownies, had always been filled to capacity. In 1946, a
combination troop house and wash house was built for work and play on rainy days. In 1960, the original cabins were removed
and modern cabins were built which feature aluminum windows, screens, and individual closet space for each girl
In 1947, as the demand for counselors increased, a special three tent unit
for training twenty counselors was set up in a secluded spot just beyond Grizzly. The only structure was a latrine as water
was carried from Grizzly and a counselor lived away from the site so the girls learned to govern themselves. In 1961, Applenook
became the training unit and Samoset became a campfire site. In the late 1960s, Samoset again assumed housing CITs although
at the present time, it is no longer in use.
In 150, the number of girls attending camp went over its 1000 mark. There
was an increased demand for a unit for 11 and 12 year olds. A new unit, Beechwood, was established to be a "junior Greenwood."
Because of its unsatisfactory location, where the "Quiet Place" is now located, Beechwood was discontinued in 1961.
In 1961, Applenook was added to replace Beechwood. Land had been purchased
on the westerly side of the main camp and a decision was made to spread the camp out in that direction. Applenook was a primitive
unit, having as its only permanent building, a latrine. The girls prepared for National Girl Scout Roundup by pitching their
own tents, cooking two meals a day and mastering other survival skills using official Roundup equipment. It also housed CITs.
Because of its remoteness, it was been disbanded.
In 1961, Maples was also added to the expanding camp. The tent unit housed
26-30 girls who enjoyed pre-pioneer adventure. For several years, a bicycle trip was the highlight of the unit. A large troop
house was added to the unit n 1967 to be used on rainy days or cool evenings. The troop house is used for troop camping through
the fall and spring.